General Info

Once home to Dakota and Ojibwe Indians, Douglas County was settled and established in 1858. The area was organized in 1866 and named in honor of Supreme Court Judge and Senator Stephen A. Douglas. Settlers were attracted to the ample natural resources and construction of a military road and the railroad prompted development. Alexandria was selected as the county seat and the first courthouse was built in 1876. By 1900 its population had reached 17,964 and the area continued to thrive. Today Douglas County is home to approximately 36,390 residents and home to over 250 lakes.